A day in the life of a neophyte corporate girl

sergey-zolkin-192937-unsplash

I am writing this with Elvis crooning in the background, it’s midnight, in my rented place and I just got home an hour and fifteen minutes ago.

When you’re alone and in a confined space, a lot of things cross your mind. A lot of them are about life, things you did and what you could have done better.

I started today with much less enthusiasm than normal, a typical work-end mood swing. It has been a month since I started this new job and everyday I wonder if I’m even doing it right. I question myself constantly on why I even do this because I know for a fact I’m not doing this for me. Not surprising. Since when have I ever done something solely for myself? I have a hard time remembering… especially when there’s nothing to recall.

When you’re new to this whole “office” thing, it can feel like a rabbit being chased by lions in the middle of the jungle. You make do of every cover you can find, utilize the bunches of leaves for your survival and just hop and hop until you make it.

Make it where? who knows.

I remember a senior asked me, about two days ago, what my expectations were.

I told him the truth.

I had none.

Because I don’t know what to expect…

That’s why I’m taking this day by day.

 

 

THE LATTE BLOG


Photo credits: unsplash.com
Photo by Sergey Zolkin on Unsplash

Leave a comment